|

28 Books Like The Name of The Wind

Books Like The Name of The Wind

“The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss is a fantasy novel that follows the story of Kvothe, a legendary figure known for his magical prowess and heroic deeds. 

The book delves into Kvothe’s childhood as a talented young musician and his journey to become a powerful wizard, set against a richly detailed world filled with magic, intrigue, and danger. 

Fans of “The Name of the Wind” often enjoy similar fantasy novels with intricate world-building, complex characters, and compelling storytelling. Some books that share similar themes and appeal to fans include the ones given below. 

Books Like The Name of The Wind

“Assassin’s Apprentice” by Robin Hobb

The first book in the Farseer Trilogy, “Assassin’s Apprentice” introduces readers to the young FitzChivalry Farseer, the illegitimate son of a prince, raised in the shadow of the royal court. 

Trained as an assassin for the kingdom of the Six Duchies, Fitz is thrust into a world of political intrigue, magic known as the Skill, and dangerous secrets. As he learns the deadly arts of an assassin, he must navigate his complicated loyalty to his king and the burden of his own hidden heritage.

“The Lies of Locke Lamora” by Scott Lynch

This novel follows the adventures of Locke Lamora, a brilliant con artist and thief, and his band of merry rogues known as the Gentlemen Bastards. Set in the elaborate and vividly described city of Camorr, inspired by Venice, Lynch crafts a tale of high stakes, deception, and brotherhood. 

The Gentlemen Bastards scheme to rob the city’s nobility, but their plans are disrupted by an ambitious underworld figure who forces them into a deadly confrontation.

“The Way of Kings” by Brandon Sanderson

“The Way of Kings” is the first entry in The Stormlight Archive, an epic fantasy series that promises to be one of the genre’s most ambitious. The story is set in the world of Roshar, a land plagued by fierce storms and where wars are fought for the possession of magical artifacts known as Shardblades and Shardplates. 

Through the perspectives of diverse characters, Sanderson weaves a narrative of survival, ambition, and betrayal, while exploring themes of leadership, sacrifice, and the nature of power.

“Mistborn: The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson

In “Mistborn: The Final Empire,” Sanderson introduces readers to a dark, ash-filled world under the rule of the immortal Lord Ruler. The story centers on Vin, a street-smart thief with latent magical abilities, as she joins a group of rebels planning to overthrow the empire. 

The novel’s magic system, based on metals that grant various powers when “burned,” is innovative and intricately detailed, adding depth and excitement to the rebellion’s struggles and the exploration of themes of freedom and oppression.

“A Wizard of Earthsea” by Ursula K. Le Guin

Le Guin’s “A Wizard of Earthsea” narrates the early life of Ged, a boy with innate magical talent who attends a school of wizardry. Ged’s arrogance leads him to unleash a shadowy entity, and the novel follows his journey to understand and confront this dark aspect of himself. 

Set in the archipelago of Earthsea, the novel is renowned for its deep philosophical underpinnings, exploration of the balance between light and dark, and Le Guin’s beautiful prose.

“The Eye of the World” by Robert Jordan

“The Eye of the World” launches The Wheel of Time, an expansive series that blends elements of European and Asian mythology to create a richly detailed fantasy world. 

The story begins in the rustic village of Emond’s Field, where five young men and women are thrust into a dangerous journey after a fearsome attack by creatures of the Dark One. As they travel, they discover their own hidden destinies and the role they must play in the battle against the darkness threatening to engulf the world.

“Blood Song” by Anthony Ryan

“Blood Song” centers on Vaelin Al Sorna, who is given to the Order of the Sixth Realm by his father and trained as a warrior in their harsh, monastic environment. As he grows into a feared and respected warrior, Vaelin uncovers the sinister truths about the government and the faith that he serves. 

The novel combines elements of military fantasy, epic adventure, and political intrigue, exploring themes of brotherhood, loyalty, and the price of power.

“The Blade Itself” by Joe Abercrombie

The first book in The First Law trilogy, “The Blade Itself” is noted for its dark humor, complex characters, and gritty realism. It brings together a disparate group of characters, including a barbarian with a conscience, a vain nobleman turned swordsman, a torturer with a troubled past, and a wizard who may be manipulating them all. 

Abercrombie’s narrative examines the blurred lines between good and evil and the realities of power and violence.

“The Goblin Emperor” by Katherine Addison

In “The Goblin Emperor,” Maia, the disregarded half-goblin son of the Emperor, unexpectedly ascends to the throne after his family is killed in an airship crash. 

Thrust into a court full of intrigue, politics, and betrayal, Maia must navigate his new life as emperor, seeking allies and understanding in a world that is hostile to him. Addison’s novel is a captivating tale of personal growth, resilience, and the complexities of leadership.

“Uprooted” by Naomi Novik

“Uprooted” draws on Eastern European folklore to tell the story of Agnieszka, a girl from a quiet village that is protected by a mysterious wizard known only as the Dragon

Every ten years, the Dragon chooses a young woman to serve him in his tower, and to everyone’s surprise, Agnieszka is chosen. 

What follows is a journey of discovery, magic, and an unlikely friendship, as Agnieszka learns about her own powerful magical abilities and battles the corrupting influence of the Wood, a malevolent forest threatening her home.

“The Wise Man’s Fear” by Patrick Rothfuss

The sequel to “The Name of the Wind,” “The Wise Man’s Fear” continues the story of Kvothe, delving deeper into his adventures, relationships, and the growing legend surrounding him. 

As Kvothe searches for answers to his many questions, he travels far from the university, encountering mercenaries, fey creatures, and the mysteries of the Adem culture. 

Rothfuss expands the world and magic introduced in the first book, further developing themes of identity, power, and the nature of truth.

“The Priory of the Orange Tree” by Samantha Shannon

Samantha Shannon’s “The Priory of the Orange Tree” is a standalone epic fantasy that spans continents and oceans, weaving together the stories of a diverse cast of characters. 

In a world divided by fear of draconic forces, the narrative explores themes of faith, forbidden love, and the fight against a looming dark power. 

With dragons, intrigue, and a richly built world, Shannon’s novel offers a fresh and feminist perspective on the epic fantasy genre.

“The Dragonbone Chair” by Tad Williams

“The Dragonbone Chair” is the first volume in the Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn series, set in the fantasy world of Osten Ard. The story follows Simon, a kitchen boy who is thrust into the center of political intrigue and an ancient prophecy. 

As the kingdom faces the threat of the undead Sithi and their dark lord, Ineluki the Storm King, Simon joins a quest to find the mythical Dragonbone Chair and the secret of the Hayholt. 

Williams’s series is known for its intricate plot, detailed world-building, and the influence it had on a new generation of fantasy writers, including George R.R. Martin.

“Gardens of the Moon” by Steven Erikson

The first installment of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, “Gardens of the Moon,” sets the stage for an epic fantasy saga of unprecedented scope. 

Known for its complex plots, vast array of characters, and a richly developed world, the story begins with the Malazan Empire’s attempt to conquer the last of the Free Cities of Genabackis. 

Magic, ancient gods, and a diverse set of characters, including soldiers, thieves, and sorcerers, weave together to create a narrative that challenges and rewards readers with its depth and complexity.

“The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern

“The Night Circus” is a mesmerizing fantasy novel about a magical competition between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who are unknowingly bound to a deadly contest. The circus serves as the enchanting backdrop for their rivalry, a place of wonder that appears without warning, open only at night. 

Morgenstern’s novel is celebrated for its lyrical prose, magical realism, and the captivating love story at its heart, inviting readers into an unforgettable, dreamlike world.

“The Bear and the Nightingale” by Katherine Arden

Set in medieval Russia, “The Bear and the Nightingale” blends folklore, history, and mythology to tell the story of Vasya, a young girl with special gifts, who challenges the boundaries of her society and battles ancient spirits to save her family and village. 

Arden’s narrative is rich with themes of faith, tradition, and the clash between old beliefs and the encroaching influence of Christianity, all set against the backdrop of the starkly beautiful Russian wilderness.

“The Shadow of What Was Lost” by James Islington

This novel kicks off The Licanius Trilogy by introducing readers to a world scarred by a past war against a tyrannical enemy, where the use of magic is strictly controlled. 

The story follows three young friends who are caught up in a web of ancient prophecies, magical powers, and hidden identities. Islington crafts a narrative that is both vast in its world-building and intimate in its exploration of character, destiny, and the nature of freedom.

“The Grace of Kings” by Ken Liu

“The Grace of Kings” is the first book in The Dandelion Dynasty, which merges epic fantasy with elements of historical saga, inspired by the rise of the Han Dynasty in ancient China. 

It tells the story of two unlikely friends, Kuni Garu and Mata Zyndu, who become leaders in a rebellion against tyranny, only to find themselves on opposite sides of a new struggle for the soul of the kingdom. Liu’s novel is notable for its intricate plot, complex characters, and the incorporation of Asian philosophical themes.

“The Queen of Blood” by Sarah Beth Durst

In “The Queen of Blood,” Durst creates a world where spirits of nature wish to rid the land of humans, and only certain women—the queens—have the power to control them. 

The story follows Daleina, a young woman with a humble command of magic who seeks to protect her people and become heir to the queen. This novel is the first in The Queens of Renthia series, combining elements of high fantasy with environmental themes and a coming-of-age story.

“Elantris” by Brandon Sanderson

“Elantris” was once a city of the gods, a place of unparalleled beauty and magic, but it has become a dark and cursed land, its former inhabitants now transformed into powerless, immortal wretches. 

The novel centers on Raoden, the prince who is cursed and sent to Elantris, Sarene, his betrothed who arrives to find him gone, and Hrathen, a high priest who must convert the people of the city or see them destroyed. Sanderson explores themes of faith, hope, and resilience in the face of despair.

“Theft of Swords” by Michael J. Sullivan

This volume combines the first two books of The Riyria Revelations, “The Crown Conspiracy” and “Avempartha,” introducing readers to Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and Hadrian Blackwater, a skilled swordsman. 

Together, they are Riyria, a formidable team of mercenaries who find themselves framed for the murder of the king. Sullivan’s series is celebrated for its engaging duo, witty dialogue, and a plot that blends classic fantasy adventure with unexpected twists.

“The Poppy War” by R.F. Kuang

Inspired by 20th-century Chinese history, “The Poppy War” is a gripping fantasy novel that follows Rin, a war orphan who aces a national exam and earns a place at a prestigious military academy. 

As she uncovers her own mythic powers, Rin’s journey becomes one of discovery and revenge against those who aim to oppress her people. Kuang’s debut explores themes of war, power, and the cost of ambition, setting the stage for a powerful trilogy.

“Kings of the Wyld” by Nicholas Eames

Blending epic fantasy with rock band camaraderie, “Kings of the Wyld” tells the story of a group of legendary mercenaries, once known as the fiercest fighters, now grown old and apart. 

They must reunite for one last seemingly impossible mission—to rescue the daughter of one of their own. Eames delivers a novel that is at once a homage to classic fantasy and a fresh take on the genre, filled with humor, heart, and action.

“The Black Prism” by Brent Weeks

“The Black Prism” begins The Lightbringer Series, introducing a world where magic is powered by light, and the Prism is the one person who can split light into its component colors and wield great power. 

The story follows Gavin Guile, the current Prism, as he discovers he has a son, Kip, who is born in a far-off village and whose life is thrust into turmoil. Weeks crafts a tale of political intrigue, warfare, and personal discovery, with a unique magic system at its core.

“The City of Brass” by S.A. Chakraborty

Set in 18th-century Cairo and the magical city of Daevabad, “The City of Brass” follows Nahri, a con artist with unsuspected magical heritage, as she accidentally summons a mysterious djinn warrior who introduces her to a world of magic, politics, and conflict she never knew existed. 

Chakraborty’s debut novel weaves together Middle Eastern history and mythology, creating a rich, vibrant setting for her tale of adventure, romance, and political intrigue.

“The Bone Season” by Samantha Shannon

In a dystopian future where clairvoyants are hunted by a totalitarian government, “The Bone Season” follows Paige Mahoney, a powerful dreamwalker who is captured and taken to a secret penal colony for others like her. 

Shannon creates a dense, imaginative world where the boundaries between life and death blur, and where Paige must fight to regain her freedom and uncover the truth about her captors’ intentions.

“The Fifth Season” by N.K. Jemisin

“The Fifth Season” takes place on a continent plagued by apocalyptic seismic activity, known as the Stillness. It follows the lives of three women who possess the ability to control, or “sess,” the earth. 

As a great rift tears the continent apart, their stories converge, revealing the depth of oppression faced by those with their powers. Jemisin’s novel is a groundbreaking work in speculative fiction, exploring themes of race, power, and environmental disaster with complexity and depth.

“Sabriel” by Garth Nix

“Sabriel” introduces readers to a world where the dead refuse to stay dead, and the boundary between life and the afterlife is guarded by the Abhorsen. 

When Sabriel’s father, the current Abhorsen, goes missing, she must cross into the dangerous territory of the dead to find him. Nix blends elements of dark fantasy and horror in this compelling tale of courage, destiny, and necromancy, creating a unique and enduring fantasy world.

Similar Posts