| |

12 Books Like Legends and Lattes

Books Like Legends and Lattes

“Legends & Lattes” is a novel by Travis Baldree. Released in 2022, it’s known for its unique blend of high fantasy and cozy, slice-of-life storytelling—a significant departure from the typical action-packed, battle-focused narratives often found in the fantasy genre. 

The novel received widespread acclaim for its charming narrative, engaging characters, and the comforting atmosphere it creates, drawing readers into a world where the magic of everyday life is celebrated. 

So, if you are looking for similar narratives akin to Legends & Lattes, here are a few of them for you to explore. 

Books Like Legends and Lattes

1. The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune

This novel introduces readers to Linus Baker, a case worker at the Department in Charge Of Magical Youth, who is sent to evaluate the safety of children in an orphanage for magical beings on a mysterious island. 

Throughout his journey, Linus discovers not just the joys and challenges of caring for these unique children, but also learns about himself and the capacity for love and acceptance in his heart. The story is imbued with whimsy, warmth, and a profound message about the importance of family and acceptance.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Legends & Lattes,” “The House in the Cerulean Sea” presents a heartwarming, slice-of-life story set in a magical world. Both books focus on themes of community, acceptance, and the transformative power of kindness. 

The emphasis on character development and the exploration of a life beyond epic quests make both novels stand out for their feel-good and uplifting narratives within the fantasy genre.

2. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

This novel follows the story of Maia, the ostracized half-goblin son of the Emperor, who unexpectedly ascends to the throne after a tragic accident kills his father and brothers. 

Unprepared for the complex political machinations of the court, Maia must navigate his new life as emperor, facing challenges and making allies along the way. It’s a tale of personal growth, resilience, and the struggle to be a just ruler in a world that did not expect to see him on the throne.

Major Similarities: 

“The Goblin Emperor” shares with “Legends & Lattes” a focus on character development and the exploration of non-traditional paths in a fantasy setting. 

Both novels eschew the conventional epic battle scenes for a more introspective look at life within their respective worlds, emphasizing the importance of kindness, integrity, and the pursuit of personal happiness.

3. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

“Uprooted” is a fantasy novel that centers on Agnieszka, a young woman from a village that is protected by a mysterious wizard known as the Dragon

Every ten years, the Dragon takes a girl from the village to serve him in his tower, and this time, Agnieszka is chosen. The story unfolds as she discovers her own magical abilities and battles the corrupting influence of the Wood, a malevolent force threatening her home.

Major Similarities: 

While “Uprooted” features more traditional fantasy elements like magic and conflict, it shares with “Legends & Lattes” a deep sense of community and the importance of finding one’s place in the world. 

Both novels highlight the strength that comes from friendship and the discovery of personal identity through unexpected challenges.

4. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

This science fiction novel follows the crew of the Wayfarer, a ship tasked with building wormhole tunnels through space. The story delves into the lives of the diverse crew as they embark on a long and perilous journey to a distant planet. 

It’s celebrated for its exploration of themes like friendship, love, and the value of diversity, showcasing the everyday lives and interpersonal relationships of the characters against a backdrop of space exploration.

Major Similarities: 

Although set in a science fiction universe, “The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” shares the character-driven, slice-of-life storytelling found in “Legends & Lattes.” 

Both books are praised for their heartwarming portrayal of community and the sense of belonging that characters develop with one another, focusing more on personal journeys and relationships than on action-packed plots.

5. Sourdough by Robin Sloan

“Sourdough” tells the story of Lois Clary, a software engineer in San Francisco who inherits a sourdough starter from two brothers who run a mysterious carry-out restaurant. 

As Lois learns to bake bread, she discovers that her sourdough has unusual properties, leading her on a journey into the world of experimental cuisine and the eccentric farmers’ market of the Bay Area. 

The novel is a delightful blend of contemporary fiction with a touch of magical realism, exploring themes of passion, discovery, and the intersection of technology and tradition.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Legends & Lattes,” “Sourdough” focuses on a protagonist discovering a new passion and building a community around it. Both novels celebrate the joy of pursuing what one loves and the impact of small pleasures on one’s life. 

While “Sourdough” is set in a more realistic world, it shares the whimsical charm and uplifting spirit that characterizes “Legends & Lattes.”

6. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus” is a fantastical novel about a magical competition between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who are unknowingly bound to a lifelong contest played out within the confines of an enchanting traveling circus that only appears at night. 

The story is rich in visual imagery and explores themes of love, fate, and the nature of time, all set against the backdrop of the mysterious circus which serves as a central point for their rivalry and romance.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Legends & Lattes,” “The Night Circus” immerses readers in a unique, magical setting that prioritizes atmosphere and character development over high-stakes action. 

Both novels create a sense of wonder and enchantment, focusing on the personal growth of their characters and the development of relationships within a close-knit community, albeit in very different settings.

7. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

This novel tells the story of Monsieur Perdu, a bookseller with a unique talent for prescribing the perfect book to mend a broken heart, who embarks on a journey to heal his own past wounds. 

His floating bookstore on a barge on the Seine takes him through the heart of France, where he makes discoveries about love, loss, and the power of literature to transform lives.

Major Similarities: 

“The Little Paris Bookshop” shares with “Legends & Lattes” the theme of starting anew and the healing power of pursuing one’s passions. Both stories are heartwarming and emphasize the importance of community, personal growth, and the transformative impact of following one’s heart. 

The unique settings—a coffee shop in a fantasy world and a floating bookstore on the Seine—offer a charming backdrop to the exploration of these themes.

8. The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

This novel follows Mika Moon, a witch who has always hidden her magic due to strict rules governing the magical community. When she’s invited to teach three young, orphaned witches how to control their powers, Mika finds herself becoming part of a makeshift family and discovering a place where she might finally belong. 

The story explores themes of found family, acceptance, and the courage to be oneself.

Major Similarities: 

Both “The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches” and “Legends & Lattes” feature protagonists seeking a sense of belonging and creating new lives for themselves in unique settings. 

The emphasis on community, the power of non-traditional families, and the pursuit of personal fulfillment are central to both stories, offering readers uplifting and heartwarming experiences.

9. Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

Set in a small town, “Garden Spells” follows the Waverley women, who have a mysterious garden with a magical apple tree that can predict the future. 

The novel centers on Claire Waverley, who uses her family’s mystical culinary gifts to cater to the townsfolk’s desires, and her estranged sister Sydney, who returns home with her young daughter. It’s a story about family, acceptance, and the magic hidden in everyday life.

Major Similarities: 

“Garden Spells” and “Legends & Lattes” both blend elements of magic and the mundane to create stories that feel both whimsical and deeply human. 

The focus on family, community, and the healing power of a warm, welcoming space—whether it’s a coffee shop or a magical garden—ties these novels together in their exploration of belonging and personal transformation.

10. An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

This young adult fantasy novel tells the story of Isobel, a talented portrait artist who paints immortal faeries. 

When she receives her first royal patron, Rook, the autumn prince, she makes a mistake that leads to a dangerous journey into the faerie lands. The book explores themes of art, enchantment, and the imperfections that make us human.

Major Similarities: 

While “An Enchantment of Ravens” leans more into adventure and romance, it shares with “Legends & Lattes” a beautifully crafted world where magic is a part of everyday life. 

Both novels delight in the details of their settings and the lives of their characters, creating immersive experiences that celebrate the beauty found in the ordinary and the power of personal connections.

11. Chocolat by Joanne Harris

“Chocolat” is set in a small French village and follows Vianne Rocher, a mysterious woman who opens a chocolaterie directly opposite the church during Lent. 

Her ability to perceive her customers’ desires and satisfy them with her confections stirs up the community, leading to conflict and, ultimately, transformation. The novel is a sensual celebration of food, community, and freedom.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Legends & Lattes,” “Chocolat” centers on the idea of a newcomer setting up a shop that becomes a focal point for community gathering and change. 

Both novels explore themes of belonging, the impact of new beginnings on a tight-knit community, and the joys of pursuing one’s passion. The emphasis on sensory experiences—whether through the taste of coffee or chocolate—adds a layer of richness to both stories.

12. A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher

Featuring a young protagonist with the magical ability to manipulate dough, “A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking” is an engaging tale of resilience, ingenuity, and the unlikely heroism of a baker-wizard. 

When the city is threatened, fourteen-year-old Mona must use her wits and her magic to save the day, armed with nothing more than her sourdough starter and a sentient gingerbread familiar.

Major Similarities: 

This novel shares with “Legends & Lattes” a light-hearted and whimsical approach to fantasy, focusing on the everyday lives of its characters within a magical world. 

Both stories emphasize the importance of community support, the value of non-traditional skills in heroic narratives, and the delights of combining culinary arts with magical elements, offering readers a charming escape into worlds where food and magic intertwine.

Similar Posts