| | | | |

15 Books Like The Housemaid

Books Like The Housemaid

Have you finished “The Housemaid” and are still buzzing from its twists and turns? 

You’re not alone! 

This suspenseful novel, with its blend of domestic noir and psychological thriller elements, has captivated readers worldwide. 

But fear not, fellow bibliophiles, because the world of captivating thrillers extends far beyond one eerie housemaid tale.

Here are some similar books that you might need to check out. 

Books Like The Housemaid

1. “The Turn of the Key” by Ruth Ware

This book tells the story of a young nanny who takes a job at a remote, luxurious home in Scotland, only to find that the family’s children are not as they seem and the house holds dark secrets of its own. 

As events unfold, she is accused of murder, leading to a suspenseful attempt to uncover the truth. Ruth Ware weaves a tale full of psychological twists, a gothic atmosphere, and modern fears about privacy and technology.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Housemaid,” “The Turn of the Key” features a protagonist who enters the employ of a wealthy family, only to discover that their seemingly perfect life hides dark secrets. 

Both novels are rich in suspense and psychological intrigue, with a central mystery that keeps readers engaged until the very end.

2. “The Last Mrs. Parrish” by Liv Constantine

This novel focuses on Amber Patterson, a woman who covets the life of Daphne Parrish, a wealthy woman with a seemingly perfect husband. Amber devises a plan to infiltrate the Parrish family’s life, but as she gets closer to achieving her goal, she discovers that the Parrish family’s perfect exterior hides troubling secrets. 

The story is a thrilling exploration of envy, deception, and the lengths people will go to secure the life they desire.

Major Similarities: 

“The Last Mrs. Parrish” shares with “The Housemaid” the theme of an outsider entering into the lives of a wealthy family and uncovering secrets and lies beneath a façade of perfection. 

Both books delve into psychological manipulation and the dark side of human nature, with a focus on suspense and plot twists.

3. “Behind Closed Doors” by B.A. Paris

“Behind Closed Doors” is a psychological thriller about the seemingly perfect marriage of Jack and Grace Angel. 

To the outside world, they appear to have it all, but the story quickly reveals a disturbingly different reality behind their closed doors. The novel is a chilling tale of manipulation, control, and the fight for survival, as Grace tries to escape her husband’s terrifying control.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “The Housemaid,” “Behind Closed Doors” explores the theme of the hidden darkness behind a façade of perfection. 

Both novels feature intense psychological suspense and a strong female protagonist who must use her wits to navigate a perilous situation.

4. “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

This novel follows Rachel, a woman who becomes entangled in a missing person’s investigation that unfolds in the neighborhood she observes from her train commute. 

As she delves deeper into the lives of the people she’s been watching, Rachel uncovers layers of deceit and betrayal. The story is a gripping psychological thriller with complex characters and an unreliable narrator, keeping readers guessing until the end.

Major Similarities: 

“The Girl on the Train” and “The Housemaid” share the element of an outsider looking into the seemingly perfect lives of others, only to uncover dark secrets and lies. 

Both novels are driven by mystery and the psychological depth of their characters, with suspenseful plots that lead to unexpected revelations.

5. “The Wife Between Us” by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

This novel intricately explores the complexities of marriage, jealousy, and obsession. It initially sets up what seems like a simple love triangle between a man, his ex-wife, and his young fiancée. 

However, as the story progresses, it reveals a much more complicated and twisted web of deception and misunderstanding. The narrative is cleverly constructed, leading readers to question their assumptions and piece together the truth.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Housemaid,” “The Wife Between Us” delves into the themes of deception, the facade of perfection, and the unexpected complexities hidden in relationships. 

Both books feature strong, complex female protagonists and are filled with twists that challenge the reader’s perceptions, making them question what they know about the characters and the story.

6. “The Woman in the Window” by A.J. Finn

This novel introduces readers to Anna Fox, an agoraphobic woman who spends her days in her New York City home, drinking wine, watching old movies, and spying on her neighbors. 

When she witnesses something she shouldn’t have through the window, her life begins to unravel, leading her to question her own sanity and the reality of what she saw. The story is a gripping psychological thriller with a complex protagonist and a plot full of twists.

Major Similarities: 

“The Woman in the Window” shares with “The Housemaid” the theme of observation leading to the discovery of dark secrets. 

Both novels feature protagonists who find themselves in over their heads as they delve into mysteries that are far more complex and dangerous than they initially appear, with suspense and psychological intrigue at their core.

7. “The Silent Patient” by Alex Michaelides

This novel centers on Alicia Berenson, a famous painter who seemingly shoots her husband in the face five times and then never speaks another word. 

The story unfolds through the perspective of Theo Faber, a criminal psychotherapist determined to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she did it. The narrative is a mix of psychological intrigue and detective work, leading to an unexpected twist.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Housemaid,” “The Silent Patient” explores the depths of human psychology and the hidden truths behind seemingly inexplicable actions. Both novels engage readers with their psychological depth, mystery, and the uncovering of secrets that have dramatic repercussions for the characters involved.

8. “Big Little Lies” by Liane Moriarty

Set in a seemingly idyllic Australian coastal town, this novel explores the lives of three women at a crossroads. The story weaves through themes of friendship, secrets, and lies, leading up to a shocking death that occurs during a school trivia night. 

Moriarty masterfully reveals the dark underbelly of suburban life and the complexities of the female experience.

Major Similarities: 

Big Little Lies” and “The Housemaid” both delve into the secrets and lies that lurk beneath the surface of a community or family’s perfect exterior. 

They combine elements of mystery, drama, and the exploration of interpersonal relationships, with a focus on strong female characters navigating challenging circumstances.

9. “The Couple Next Door” by Shari Lapena

This thriller unfolds with a couple attending a dinner party next door, leaving their baby alone in their house. When they return, the baby is missing, triggering a frantic search and a police investigation that reveals secrets, lies, and unexpected twists within their own relationship and among their friends and family. 

The narrative is fast-paced, full of suspense, and explores themes of trust, betrayal, and the pressures of societal expectations.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “The Housemaid,” “The Couple Next Door” features a domestic setting where a seemingly ordinary situation spirals into a complex web of deceit and mystery. 

Both novels captivate readers with their psychological depth, plot twists, and the exploration of the darker aspects of human nature and relationships.

10. “The Secret History” by Donna Tartt

This novel is a bit of a departure in setting, focusing on a group of eccentric classics students at an elite New England college, but it shares the theme of dark secrets within a close-knit group. 

The story is narrated by one of the students, who recounts the events leading up to and following a murder within the group, exploring the consequences of their intellectual elitism and moral flexibility. Tartt crafts a compelling narrative of betrayal, identity, and the nature of evil.

Major Similarities: 

While “The Secret History” differs in its academic setting, it shares with “The Housemaid” a deep dive into complex character dynamics and the unraveling of secrets. 

Both novels examine how the past and hidden truths can exert a powerful influence on the present, leading to unexpected and often tragic outcomes.

11. “The Guest List” by Lucy Foley

Set on a remote island off the Irish coast during a lavish wedding celebration, this novel unfolds through multiple perspectives, revealing secrets and tensions among the guests and the wedding party. 

As the celebration progresses, a storm traps everyone on the island, and a murder is discovered, leading to a suspenseful investigation into everyone’s motives. Foley crafts a tense atmosphere filled with twists and turns, exploring themes of jealousy, betrayal, and the power of secrets.

Major Similarities: 

“The Guest List” and “The Housemaid” both center around a wealthy, seemingly perfect setting that becomes the stage for a mystery involving dark secrets and deceit. 

The use of multiple perspectives in “The Guest List” enhances the psychological depth and suspense, similar to the way “The Housemaid” delves into the hidden lives of its characters.

12. “The Perfect Nanny” by Leila Slimani

This chilling novel begins with the murder of two young children by their nanny in Paris, then delves into the backstory of how the nanny came to be part of the family’s life. 

The story explores the complex relationship between the family and the nanny, touching on themes of class, motherhood, and the pressures of societal expectations. Slimani crafts a compelling and disturbing narrative that questions the notion of trust and the vulnerabilities of family dynamics.

Major Similarities: 

“The Perfect Nanny” shares with “The Housemaid” the theme of an outsider entering the domestic sphere of a family, leading to unforeseen consequences. 

Both novels probe the psychological complexities of their characters and the tensions that arise from their interactions, culminating in dramatic and tragic events.

13. “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn

This novel tells the story of Nick and Amy Dunne’s complicated marriage, which is scrutinized when Amy goes missing on their fifth wedding anniversary. 

Through alternating perspectives between Nick and Amy, Flynn reveals the layers of deceit and manipulation in their relationship, leading to a shocking twist. “Gone Girl” explores themes of media influence, the facade of the perfect marriage, and the dark sides of personality.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Housemaid,” “Gone Girl” delves into the dynamics of a relationship that appears perfect on the surface but is filled with secrets and lies. 

Both novels offer a gripping psychological thriller experience, rich in twists and turns, that explores the extent to which individuals will go to preserve their version of reality.

14. “The Girl Before” by J.P. Delaney

This novel alternates between the stories of Emma and Jane, who each move into an architecturally stunning but austere house, designed with strict rules and an eerie past. 

As Jane uncovers the truth about the house and what happened to the girl before her, she begins to see startling similarities in their lives. Delaney crafts a suspenseful story about control, obsession, and the haunting legacy of the past.

Major Similarities:

“The Girl Before” shares with “The Housemaid” the theme of characters entering a new environment only to discover its dark past. 

Both novels are psychological thrillers that explore how the places we live can influence and reveal our deepest fears and secrets, with a narrative that keeps readers guessing.

15. “The Other Woman” by Sandie Jones

This novel focuses on the relationship between Emily, her boyfriend Adam, and his manipulative mother, Pammie. 

Emily’s dream relationship starts to crumble as Pammie’s interference becomes more sinister, leading to a tense and psychological battle of wills. Jones delivers a story full of twists and suspense, exploring themes of love, loyalty, and the destructive power of manipulation.

Major Similarities: 

“The Other Woman” and “The Housemaid” both explore the theme of an outsider coming into a new situation and facing unexpected, manipulative forces. 

Both novels are filled with psychological intrigue and the tension of uncovering truths within complex relationships, maintaining high suspense and unexpected developments.

Similar Posts