| |

10 Books Like Beach Read

Books Like Beach Read

Sun-kissed pages and salty breezes – that’s what “Beach Read” by Emily Henry gave me this summer. 

If you, like me, devoured that book and are craving similar vibes, then buckle up, bookworms! 

I’ve got a beach bag full of recommendations coming your way.

Books Like Beach Read

1. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

“The Unhoneymooners” is a romantic comedy that follows the story of Olive Torres and Ethan Thomas, who end up going on a honeymoon together to Hawaii after the bride and groom get food poisoning. 

Olive is the bride’s twin sister, and Ethan is the groom’s brother; they have always been enemies, but decide to take advantage of the all-expenses-paid vacation. What starts as a vacation filled with comedic mishaps and adversarial banter slowly turns into an unexpected romance.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Beach Read,” “The Unhoneymooners” features enemies-to-lovers dynamics and is set against a sunny, relaxing backdrop that lends itself to beach reading. Both novels balance humor with deeper emotional themes, exploring how preconceived notions can be challenged when people are thrown into unexpected circumstances. 

The witty dialogue and engaging character dynamics make both books appealing to readers looking for contemporary romances that are both heartwarming and entertaining.

2. You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle

In “You Deserve Each Other,” Naomi Westfield and her fiancé, Nicholas Rose, seem to be heading towards a perfect wedding, but beneath the surface, they can hardly stand each other. 

When Naomi realizes that the only way out of the wedding without financial ruin is if Nicholas calls it off first, a war of pranks and sabotage begins, leading to a rediscovery of why they fell in love in the first place.

Major Similarities: 

This novel shares the theme of rediscovering love and the complexities of relationships with “Beach Read.” 

Both books use humor and engaging conflict to peel back the layers of their characters, allowing readers to explore the depth of relationships beyond initial attraction. The emotional growth of the characters, coupled with a light-hearted narrative, makes both novels stand out in the contemporary romance genre.

3. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

The Hating Game” follows Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman, two executive assistants locked in a bitter rivalry at a publishing company. 

Their professional competition and personal disdain for each other take a turn when they find themselves competing for a promotion, leading to a series of games and challenges that reveal their true feelings.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Beach Read,” “The Hating Game” features a hate-to-love romance and explores the thin line between love and hate. Both novels excel in creating a palpable tension and chemistry between the protagonists, using witty banter and a competitive dynamic as a backdrop for romance. 

The engaging narrative and character development in both books appeal to readers who enjoy seeing adversaries become allies and lovers.

4. Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

In “Evvie Drake Starts Over,” Evvie Drake is a widow who is barely leaving her house a year after her husband’s death. When Dean Tenney, a former Major League Baseball player struggling with a case of the “yips,” moves into the apartment at the back of her house, they both find unexpected support and companionship. 

Their friendship gradually evolves, offering them both a chance at a new beginning.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Evvie Drake Starts Over” and “Beach Read” feature characters dealing with personal loss and challenges, finding healing and new beginnings through unexpected relationships. 

The novels blend elements of romance, self-discovery, and second chances, with a focus on emotional growth and resilience. The realistic portrayal of relationships and the emphasis on personal development are key similarities between the two.

5. 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

“99 Percent Mine” follows Darcy Barrett, who has traveled the world and is currently living in her grandmother’s house, which she’s supposed to be renovating to sell. 

When her brother’s best friend (and her childhood crush), Tom Valeska, appears to take on the renovation project, old feelings resurface. Darcy sees this as her chance to finally win over Tom, but she must navigate her feelings and what she truly wants in life.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Beach Read,” “99 Percent Mine” explores themes of love, second chances, and self-discovery through the lens of complex characters and their relationships. Both novels feature protagonists dealing with personal and familial issues, set against the backdrop of a significant project that brings them closer. 

The blend of humor, romance, and emotional depth in both books makes them appealing to readers who enjoy contemporary romances with a bit more substance.

6. The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary

“The Flatshare” is a unique romantic comedy about Tiffy Moore and Leon Twomey, who share a flat and a bed but have never met due to opposite work schedules. Tiffy needs a cheap place to live after a bad breakup, and Leon needs cash to help his wrongly imprisoned brother. 

Their unusual arrangement leads them to communicate through notes, which starts a friendship and slowly blossoms into something more.

Major Similarities: 

Both “The Flatshare” and “Beach Read” delve into the complexities of relationships, using unique premises to bring the characters together. The novels blend humor with heartfelt moments, focusing on emotional healing and the power of love to overcome past hurts. 

The unconventional relationships and the growth of the characters through their interactions mirror the emotional depth and charm found in “Beach Read.”

7. Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn

In “Love Lettering,” Meg Mackworth, a talented calligrapher, hides a secret message of warning in a wedding program for Reid Sutherland, who discovers it a year later when his marriage has failed. 

Intrigued by the message and the woman behind it, Reid seeks out Meg to understand why she did it, leading them on a journey through the streets of New York, decoding signs and messages that might just lead them to love.

Major Similarities: 

“Love Lettering” and “Beach Read” share a focus on the protagonists’ professional lives intersecting with their personal growth and romantic relationships. 

Both novels feature characters with unique careers that play a significant role in the plot and their development. The themes of discovery, second chances, and the exploration of deeper emotional connections through unconventional means are prevalent in both stories.

8. One Day in December by Josie Silver

“One Day in December” follows Laurie, who doesn’t believe in love at first sight until she sees a man through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day. 

She spends a year searching for him, only to find him introduced as her best friend’s new boyfriend. The book spans over a decade, exploring missed opportunities, the complexities of friendship and love, and the idea that fate might have a way of bringing the right people together.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Beach Read,” “One Day in December” explores the theme of missed connections and the journey to finding love, often where and when least expected. 

Both novels address the idea of fate and timing in relationships, weaving together the protagonists’ personal growth with their evolving relationships. The emotional depth, coupled with the exploration of love and friendship, makes both books resonate with readers looking for more than just a simple love story.

9. Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Red, White & Royal Blue” is an LGBT romantic comedy that follows the son of America’s first female president, Alex Claremont-Diaz, and his rivalry-turned-romance with Prince Henry of Wales. 

After an incident at a royal wedding forces them into a fake friendship for the sake of international relations, they begin to discover a deeper connection between them, challenging their beliefs about themselves and their duties to their countries.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Red, White & Royal Blue” and “Beach Read” feature characters who initially clash but eventually find common ground and deeper feelings for each other. 

The novels blend humor, romance, and political and social commentary, offering readers engaging narratives that explore themes of identity, duty, and love. The dynamic character interactions and the journey from rivalry to romance are key similarities.

10. People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

“People We Meet on Vacation” by Emily Henry, who also wrote “Beach Read,” tells the story of Poppy and Alex, two best friends with nothing in common but their yearly summer trips. 

After a falling out, they haven’t spoken for two years, but Poppy convinces Alex to take one last vacation together in an attempt to fix everything that went wrong. As they try to rekindle their friendship, they are forced to confront what went wrong and what might be right in front of them.

Major Similarities: 

Authored by Emily Henry, both “People We Meet on Vacation” and “Beach Read” share a similar writing style, blending humor with emotional depth. The themes of friendship, love, and the importance of confronting past issues are central to both stories. 

Each novel features complex characters who embark on a journey of self-discovery and reconciliation, making them appealing to readers who enjoy contemporary romances that are both heartwarming and thought-provoking.

Similar Posts