12 Books Like Sapiens

Books Like Sapiens

In the context of human history, few books have captivated readers as profoundly as Yuval Noah Harari’s “Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind.” 

With its sweeping narrative and thought-provoking insights, “Sapiens” has become a cornerstone for those seeking to comprehend the complexities of our species’ journey. However, for those hungering for more exploration into the depths of human existence, there exists a wealth of literature that offers similar illuminations. 

In this blog post, we’ll delve into a selection of books akin to “Sapiens,” each offering its own unique way of knowing more about humanity’s past, present, and future. 

Whether you’re fascinated by anthropology, sociology, or simply the human experience, these books are sure to expand your understanding and spark new avenues of contemplation.

Books Like Sapiens

1. “Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies” by Jared Diamond

This Pulitzer Prize-winning book explores how environmental and geographical factors have shaped the modern world. 

Jared Diamond examines the reasons why some societies have developed advanced technologies and complex social structures while others have remained relatively simple. 

He argues that the distribution of agriculture, livestock, and metal tools across different continents, rather than racial genetics, is the primary force behind global disparities in power and development.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Sapiens,” “Guns, Germs, and Steel” delves into the deep history of humanity, focusing on how environmental factors have influenced the development of human societies over thousands of years. 

Both books challenge conventional views on history and humanity, using interdisciplinary approaches to understand the broad patterns that have shaped human history.

2. “Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow” by Yuval Noah Harari

As a follow-up to “Sapiens,” “Homo Deus” explores the future trajectories of humanity, focusing on the potential challenges and advancements that lie ahead. 

Harari speculates on the evolution of artificial intelligence, biotechnology, and man’s quest for immortality, suggesting that the future might see humans taking on god-like powers but also facing unprecedented ethical dilemmas and inequalities.

Major Similarities: 

“Homo Deus” continues the intellectual journey of “Sapiens” by maintaining a broad, speculative look at the human condition, this time turning its gaze towards the future. 

It shares Harari’s engaging narrative style and his penchant for addressing big questions about society, ethics, and the nature of human existence.

3. “The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined” by Steven Pinker

Steven Pinker argues against the common perception that modern society is more violent than it has ever been, using a wealth of data to demonstrate that violence has been in decline over long stretches of history. 

Pinker explores the forces and circumstances that have led to this decline, including the spread of government, trade, and the influence of enlightenment ideals. He presents a hopeful view of humanity’s future, grounded in the potential for further progress.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Sapiens,” Pinker’s book takes a long view of history, but with a focus on the specific aspect of violence and its decline. 

Both books are grounded in a deep appreciation for the complexities of human societies and use a broad array of data and interdisciplinary insights to argue against common misconceptions about humanity.

4. “Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed” by Jared Diamond

In “Collapse,” Jared Diamond investigates why certain ancient societies, such as the Anasazi of North America and the Easter Island civilization, collapsed due to environmental and social factors, while others have thrived. 

Diamond uses these historical case studies to draw lessons for today, particularly in terms of ecological stewardship and sustainable resource management.

Major Similarities: 

This book complements “Sapiens” by providing a detailed look at the ecological and societal factors that lead to the rise and fall of civilizations. 

Both books emphasize the importance of understanding our past to navigate the present and future, especially in relation to environmental sustainability and social structures.

5. “The Origins of Political Order: From Prehuman Times to the French Revolution” by Francis Fukuyama

Francis Fukuyama presents a comprehensive overview of political evolution from the prehistoric era to the late 18th century, exploring how human societies have developed various political institutions. 

He discusses the importance of the state, rule of law, and accountable government in creating stable societies. Fukuyama combines historical depth with a keen analysis of political systems to understand the roots of political stability and disorder.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Sapiens,” Fukuyama’s work is ambitious in scope, seeking to understand the broad patterns that have shaped human social and political organization. 

Both books offer insightful analyses of how complex societies have evolved over time, integrating anthropology, history, and political science to illuminate the human journey.

6. “Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty” by Daron Acemoglu and James A. Robinson

This book delves into the historical roots of global inequality, arguing that political and economic institutions—whether inclusive or extractive—determine the fate of nations. 

Acemoglu and Robinson use a wide array of case studies to show how inclusive institutions, which allow for participation and innovation, lead to prosperity, while extractive institutions, which concentrate power and wealth, lead to poverty.

Major Similarities: 

Much like “Sapiens,” “Why Nations Fail” approaches history from a broad, analytical perspective, seeking to uncover the underlying factors that drive human societies. 

Both books are concerned with the big questions of why societies develop in the ways that they do and share a commitment to interdisciplinary research to explain the patterns of human history.

7. “The Third Chimpanzee: The Evolution and Future of the Human Animal” by Jared Diamond

In this exploration of human evolution and its implications, Diamond examines how Homo sapiens emerged as a dominant species and the impact of this ascendancy on the planet and ourselves. 

The book covers a range of topics, from the evolution of human sexuality and gender differences to the reasons behind humanity’s propensity for drug use and art creation, offering insights into both our past and potential future.

Major Similarities: 

“The Third Chimpanzee” shares with “Sapiens” a fascination with the broader arc of human history, but with a particular focus on biological and evolutionary aspects. 

Both books are written by authors committed to interdisciplinary approaches, blending insights from anthropology, biology, history, and psychology to paint a comprehensive picture of humanity.

8. “The World Until Yesterday: What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?” by Jared Diamond

Diamond explores what modern societies can learn from traditional societies, including conflict resolution, childcare, eldercare, and the benefits of multilingualism. 

The book is based on Diamond’s extensive fieldwork in New Guinea and other areas, offering a comparative look at how societies function with different levels of technology and social complexity.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Sapiens,” this book is concerned with understanding the breadth of human experiences across different societies and times. Both books offer insights into the variety of social and cultural arrangements humans have developed and challenge readers to think critically about the assumptions of modern life.

9. “Sapiens: A Graphic History” by Yuval Noah Harari

This adaptation of Harari’s original “Sapiens” into a graphic novel format presents the history of humankind in a visually engaging way. 

It simplifies complex theories and data while maintaining the original’s insightful analysis, making the story of our species accessible to a broader audience, including younger readers.

Major Similarities: 

While technically an adaptation of the same book, “Sapiens: A Graphic History” offers a novel approach to Harari’s ideas, making the major themes and insights of “Sapiens” accessible through a different medium. 

It shares the original’s ambition to explain human history in a comprehensive and engaging way.

10. “The Silk Roads: A New History of the World” by Peter Frankopan

Frankopan shifts the focus from the Western-centric view of history to the Silk Roads, the network of trade routes that linked the East and West. 

He argues that these routes were the central nervous system of the world, playing a crucial role in the development of civilizations by facilitating the exchange of goods, ideas, religions, and diseases.

Major Similarities: 

“The Silk Roads” and “Sapiens” both challenge traditional narratives of history by broadening the perspective and focusing on the connections between different parts of the world. 

Both books are ambitious in scope, aiming to provide a more interconnected and comprehensive understanding of human history.

11. “1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus” by Charles C. Mann

Mann provides a groundbreaking study of the pre-Columbian Americas, challenging the conventional wisdom that the continents were sparsely populated. 

Through scientific discoveries, Mann shows that the Americas were actually home to vast, sophisticated civilizations that significantly impacted the global ecosystem.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Sapiens,” “1491” broadens our understanding of human history by illuminating the complexity and richness of societies that are often marginalized in traditional narratives. Both books draw on the latest scientific research to challenge myths and stereotypes about human development.

12. “Civilizations: Culture, Ambition, and the Transformation of Nature” by Felipe Fernández-Armesto

Fernández-Armesto examines human civilizations through the lens of their relationship with the natural environment, arguing that the ability to transform the natural world is what defines civilization. 

The book explores a wide range of societies, from ancient Mesopotamia to modern America, and how they have shaped, and been shaped by, their environments.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Sapiens,” “Civilizations” takes a macro-historical approach to understand the development of human societies. 

Both books are interested in how humans interact with their environment and the consequences of those interactions for societal development and sustainability.

Similar Posts