| |

15 Books Like The Fault in Our Stars

Books Like The Fault in Our Stars

Have you ever experienced the bittersweet ache of falling in love amidst the backdrop of life’s most challenging moments? 

If you found yourself enraptured by the heart-wrenching beauty of John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars,” then you’re familiar with the profound impact that poignant storytelling can have on the soul. 

But fear not, my fellow bibliophile, for the journey doesn’t end there. 

In this blog post, we’ll delve into a world of literary gems that resonate with the same tender emotions, the same raw vulnerability, and the same celebration of life in the face of adversity. 

Let’s check them out. 

Books Like The Fault in Our Stars

1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

“Eleanor & Park” is a novel that captures the essence of first love through the story of two sixteen-year-olds, Eleanor, who is dealing with a troubled family life, and Park, a half-Korean boy who feels out of place. 

Set in 1986, their romance blossoms over comic books and mixtapes, showing how two people can find a deep connection despite their apparent differences. 

The narrative dives deep into themes of acceptance, the struggles of adolescence, and the impact of family dynamics on young love.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Fault in Our Stars,” “Eleanor & Park” explores young love with depth and sensitivity, focusing on characters who feel like outsiders in their own worlds. 

Both books handle serious themes with grace, discussing the impact of external challenges on relationships. The emotional depth, engaging storytelling, and development of the characters’ relationships resonate with the tone and feel of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

“Me Before You” tells the poignant story of Louisa Clark and Will Traynor, whose lives change unexpectedly when Louisa becomes Will’s caretaker. Will, paralyzed from a motorcycle accident, has lost his desire to live, while Louisa is a quirky and cheerful woman determined to show him that life is worth living. 

Their journey is filled with laughter, tears, and moments of self-discovery, challenging both characters to reconsider what they know about love and the choices they make.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Me Before You” and “The Fault in Our Stars” deal with themes of love, illness, and how to find meaning in life despite facing insurmountable odds. 

The emotional rollercoaster experienced by the characters, coupled with the exploration of how love can flourish under difficult circumstances, makes “Me Before You” resonate with readers who appreciated the depth and emotional complexity of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

3. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

“If I Stay” centers on Mia, a talented cellist who experiences a devastating car accident that leaves her in a coma. Caught between life and death, Mia must decide whether to wake up and live a life far different than she had imagined or to let go. 

Through flashbacks, the novel explores Mia’s relationships, her passion for music, and the impact of love and loss on one’s choices.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Fault in Our Stars,” “If I Stay” delves into the themes of tragedy, choice, and the fragility of life, presenting a young protagonist who faces life-altering decisions. 

Both novels tackle the emotional complexities of dealing with loss and love, engaging readers with their introspective and poignant narratives. The focus on a young protagonist navigating love and loss connects the two stories deeply.

4. Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking for Alaska” follows Miles “Pudge” Halter as he enrolls in a boarding school in search of his own “Great Perhaps.” There, he meets Alaska Young, a fascinating and enigmatic girl who captivates him. 

The novel explores the themes of friendship, love, loss, and the quest for meaning in life, as Miles and his friends navigate the complexities of adolescence.

Major Similarities: 

Written by the same author, “Looking for Alaska” shares John Green’s signature style of blending humor with deeply emotional and thought-provoking themes. 

Both novels feature compelling young characters, explore the impact of tragedy and loss, and present a coming-of-age story that leaves a lasting impression on the reader. The exploration of existential themes through the lens of young love links both novels.

5. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places” tells the story of Violet Markey and Theodore Finch, who meet on the ledge of their school’s bell tower, both contemplating suicide. 

They pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, but as they do, they also discover the wonders within each other. The novel addresses mental health, the beauty of life, and the impact of grief and loss.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “The Fault in Our Stars,” “All the Bright Places” focuses on young love amid dealing with themes of mental health, tragedy, and healing. 

The novel portrays a deep and meaningful relationship that helps the characters navigate their struggles and find hope. Its sensitive portrayal of difficult topics, combined with a focus on the transformative power of love and understanding, mirrors the themes and emotional depth found in “The Fault in Our Stars.”

6. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

“Everything, Everything” is the story of Maddy, a girl allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy next door who wants to reach her. Living in a sanitized, completely isolated environment, Maddy’s life changes when Olly moves in next door, sparking a connection that pushes the boundaries of her confined world. 

Their story explores themes of love, risk, and the true meaning of living rather than just being alive.

Major Similarities: 

This novel shares with “The Fault in Our Stars” the theme of young love blossoming under the shadow of illness and the constraints it imposes. Both stories delve into the lengths to which people will go for love, challenging the limitations set by health conditions. 

The narrative of both novels is about finding joy and meaning in life, despite circumstances that might seem insurmountable.

7. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

“The Sun Is Also a Star” is a love story between Natasha, a girl who believes in science and facts, and Daniel, a dreamer who believes in destiny, fate, and love. 

Taking place over a single day in New York City, their story explores issues of family, immigration, and the serendipitous nature of love. It’s a narrative that questions whether our lives are determined by fate or the random events of the universe.

Major Similarities:

Like “The Fault in Our Stars,” “The Sun Is Also a Star” deals with young protagonists facing significant, life-altering challenges. Both novels explore the idea of a deep and meaningful connection that defies the odds. 

The emphasis on the power of love, the impact of external circumstances on personal choices, and the blend of romantic with existential questions echoes the thematic and emotional depth of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

8. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

“Five Feet Apart” tells the story of Stella and Will, two teenagers with cystic fibrosis, who meet in a hospital and fall in love. 

However, their medical condition requires that they stay six feet apart at all times to reduce the risk of cross-infection, challenging their ability to form a closer relationship. The novel explores themes of love, loss, and the human spirit’s resilience in the face of chronic illness.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Five Feet Apart” and “The Fault in Our Stars” feature protagonists dealing with serious health conditions that profoundly affect their lives and relationships. 

The stories focus on the emotional and physical challenges of falling in love under such restrictive circumstances, highlighting the strength, courage, and defiance of young people facing their mortality. The exploration of how love can thrive in the face of adversity connects these novels closely.

9. Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

“Let It Snow” is a collection of three interconnected holiday romances set during a Christmas Eve snowstorm. Each story, written by a different author, weaves together to tell a larger narrative of love, friendship, and serendipitous encounters. 

The characters face unique challenges but find warmth, connection, and romance in the cold of winter, showing the magic that can happen around the holiday season.

Major Similarities: 

While “Let It Snow” differs in setting and circumstances, it shares with “The Fault in Our Stars” the theme of young love and the unexpected paths it can take. 

The novel’s emphasis on connection, the transformative power of love, and the impact of chance encounters reflects the emotional depth and character-driven storytelling of “The Fault in Our Stars.” Both stories captivate readers with their heartfelt narratives and the exploration of relationships under unique circumstances.

10. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This novel follows Aristotle and Dante, two boys with seemingly nothing in common, who develop a special friendship that blossoms into something more. Set in the 1980s, it explores themes of identity, family, and the complexities of growing up. 

Through their relationship, Aristotle and Dante learn about the kind of people they want to be and the profound impact of friendship and love on one’s journey to self-discovery.

Major Similarities: 

“Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” shares with “The Fault in Our Stars” a deep exploration of young relationships and the challenges of growing up. 

Both novels feature characters who are introspective and dealing with personal and external challenges, finding solace and understanding in each other. The emphasis on emotional growth, the power of connection, and the journey towards self-acceptance parallels the themes and narrative style of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

11. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

“I’ll Give You the Sun” is a novel about twins Noah and Jude, who are incredibly close but are torn apart by tragedy and secrets. Told in alternating perspectives, with Noah narrating the early years and Jude telling the latter part, the story weaves a complex tapestry of art, love, and forgiveness. 

As they come to terms with their own identities and feelings, the twins also navigate the difficult path toward reconciliation and understanding.

Major Similarities: 

Much like “The Fault in Our Stars,” this novel explores the themes of love, loss, and the journey to find one’s self amidst life-altering circumstances. Both books handle the complexity of relationships with depth and nuance, offering readers emotionally rich narratives that challenge and inspire. 

The emphasis on character growth, the impact of tragedy on personal development, and the transformative power of love and art echo the thematic concerns of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

12. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

“Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda” centers on Simon Spier, a not-so-openly gay sixteen-year-old, who prefers to save his drama for the school musical. However, when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. 

Simon must step out of his comfort zone before he’s outed against his will, or worse, the part of himself he’s not ready to face will be. This novel is a heartfelt and humorous exploration of identity, friendship, and the exhilarating experience of first love.

Major Similarities: 

Both novels share a profound look into the lives of young individuals navigating the complexities of identity and relationships. “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda” and “The Fault in Our Stars” present characters who must confront challenges that threaten their sense of self and relationships. 

The themes of love, acceptance, and the quest for authenticity resonate with readers in a similar way, making both stories impactful and memorable.

13. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars” is a suspenseful, gripping novel about a wealthy, seemingly perfect family that is, in fact, deeply flawed. The story is centered around Cadence Sinclair, who spends her summers on the family’s private island. 

After suffering a head injury, Cadence tries to piece together what happened to her, leading to a shocking twist. The novel explores themes of family, love, the corrosive nature of lies, and the power of truth.

Major Similarities: 

While “We Were Liars” and “The Fault in Our Stars” differ in genre, they both deeply explore emotional truths and the impact of tragedy on young lives. 

Both books challenge readers to think about the complexities of relationships and the consequences of our actions. The emotional journey of the characters, coupled with the themes of love and loss, creates a poignant reading experience that echoes the depth found in “The Fault in Our Stars.”

14. History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

“History Is All You Left Me” tells the story of Griffin, whose first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident. Griffin must navigate his complicated feelings of grief and longing, especially as secrets about Theo’s last months come to light. 

The novel delves into themes of love, loss, mental health, and the process of healing, offering an honest and heartbreaking look at moving forward after devastating loss.

Major Similarities: 

This novel, like “The Fault in Our Stars,” deals with young people facing profound grief and the journey toward healing. Both stories tackle the emotional turmoil of losing someone close and the complexity of relationships that continue to evolve even after someone has passed away. 

The raw and honest portrayal of grief and love in “History Is All You Left Me” resonates with the thematic depth and emotional resonance of “The Fault in Our Stars.”

15. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

“To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” follows Lara Jean Song Covey, whose life is turned upside down when the secret love letters she wrote to her crushes are mysteriously mailed out. 

As her romantic fantasies collide with reality, Lara Jean navigates the complications of love, relationships, and the chaos that ensues. 

This charming and heartfelt story explores themes of love, identity, and the bonds of family.

Major Similarities: 

Like “The Fault in Our Stars,” “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” explores young love with a mix of humor and sincerity. Both novels feature strong, relatable protagonists who face unexpected challenges in their romantic lives. 

The emphasis on the growth and development of the characters, as they navigate the complexities of relationships, draws a parallel between the two stories, making “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” a delightful read for fans of poignant, character-driven narratives.

Similar Posts