24 Books like the Bridgerton Series

Books like the Bridgerton Series

With the resounding success of Julia Quinn’s “Bridgerton” series, readers have been whisked away into a realm where lavish balls, forbidden desires, and witty banter reign supreme. 

But, how about some books that are similar to Bridgerton – forbidden love affairs to dazzling aristocratic escapades, novels that promise to sweep you off your feet and transport you to worlds where love knows no bounds. 

Well, here they are, both as series and standalones.

Let’s check them out. 

Books Like Bridgerton

1. “The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever” by Julia Quinn

This novel tells the story of Miranda Cheever, who falls in love with her best friend’s older brother, Turner, at a very young age. As they grow older, their paths cross again in unexpected ways, leading to a complex and passionate relationship. The story is filled with Quinn’s signature wit and heartwarming romance, making it a delightful read for fans of historical romance.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, this book is set in the Regency era and focuses on themes of love, societal expectations, and the journey to finding happiness. The engaging writing style, rich historical setting, and emphasis on family dynamics are reminiscent of the Bridgerton books.

2. “Then Came You” by Lisa Kleypas

This novel follows Lily Lawson, a spirited and unconventional woman who will do anything to protect her sister from an unwanted marriage, even if it means inserting herself into the high stakes of British society. Her path collides with that of Alex, Lord Wolverton, leading to a fiery and unpredictable romance. The story combines humor, passion, and a touch of scandal, much like the Bridgerton series.

Major Similarities: Set in the same Regency period, “Then Came You” offers a blend of romance, societal pressures, and strong, memorable characters. The focus on family and the lengths one will go to protect loved ones echo the themes found in Julia Quinn’s works.

3. “Devil in Winter” by Lisa Kleypas

Evangeline Jenner stands to become wealthy once her inheritance comes through, but to escape her unscrupulous relatives, she proposes marriage to Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent, a notorious rake. Their marriage of convenience turns into a love story filled with growth, understanding, and passion. Kleypas delivers a compelling narrative that explores themes of redemption and love in unexpected places.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton novels, this book features strong character development, a marriage of convenience plot, and the transformation of relationships over time within a vividly depicted Regency setting.

4. “Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake” by Sarah MacLean

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always followed the rules, but after realizing she’s missed out on much of life, she creates a scandalous list of things to accomplish. Gabriel St. John, the Marquess of Ralston, becomes unwittingly entangled in her adventures, leading to a passionate and unconventional romance. The book combines humor, passion, and a heroine’s journey to self-discovery.

Major Similarities: This novel shares the Bridgerton series’ Regency setting, focus on societal rules and the breaking thereof, and a central romance that develops amidst a backdrop of high society and its expectations.

5. “The Duchess Deal” by Tessa Dare

When the Duke of Ashbury returns from war, he needs an heir, leading him to propose a marriage of convenience to Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress. What starts as a simple arrangement evolves into a deep, laughter-filled, and passionate connection. Tessa Dare crafts a story with witty banter, emotional depth, and a unique take on the beauty and the beast trope.

Major Similarities: The novel echoes the Bridgerton series in its Regency setting, focus on marriages of convenience that evolve into love, and its blend of humor with heartfelt romance.

6. “The Heiress Effect” by Courtney Milan

This book follows Jane Fairfield, an heiress with a fortune large enough to attract suitors but with a personality and sense of fashion designed to repel them, as she navigates the complex waters of society and family expectations. Oliver Marshall, a politician with aspirations, finds himself drawn to Jane’s authenticity and the challenge she represents. Milan weaves a story of love, ambition, and the courage to be oneself.

Major Similarities: “The Heiress Effect” shares the Bridgerton series’ interest in the themes of societal expectations, the pursuit of love against all odds, and strong, independent characters finding their way in the Regency era.

7. “A Night to Surrender” by Tessa Dare

Set in the charming and fictitious seaside village of Spindle Cove, known for its unusual population of women, the story kicks off with the arrival of Victor Bramwell, a war hero, who is tasked with organizing a militia. His encounter with Susanna Finch, the self-appointed protector of the women of Spindle Cove, leads to an irresistible attraction and a battle of wills. Dare combines humor, empowerment, and romance in a unique setting.

Major Similarities: Although not set in the high society of London, this book mirrors the Bridgerton series in its engaging blend of strong character dynamics, romantic development, and a historical backdrop that adds depth and color to the narrative.

8. “Slightly Married” by Mary Balogh

Meet Aidan Bedwyn, who promises a dying soldier to protect his sister, leading him to Eva, who is on the verge of losing her home. A marriage of convenience between them sets the stage for a tender and evolving love story. Balogh excels in creating a narrative that explores themes of honor, family, and the unexpected paths to love.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton novels, “Slightly Married” focuses on honor and duty leading to unexpected love, all set against the backdrop of the Regency era, featuring complex characters and family dynamics.

9. “The Proposal” by Mary Balogh

Gwendoline, Lady Muir, has given up on love until a chance encounter with Hugo, Lord Trentham, a soldier who prefers a solitary life. Their initial misunderstandings pave the way for a story about healing, acceptance, and the possibility of love beyond first impressions. Balogh’s writing delicately handles themes of vulnerability and resilience.

Major Similarities: Similar to the Bridgerton series, this novel is set in the Regency period and delves into themes of societal norms, the aftermath of war on personal lives, and the journey from mutual disdain to deep affection.

10. “Duke of Shadows” by Meredith Duran

In this sweeping romance, Emmaline Martin, a British heiress, travels to India, where she meets Julian Sinclair, the Duke of Auburn. Their story spans continents, from the lush landscapes of India to the drawing rooms of London, weaving a tale of betrayal, mystery, and a love that overcomes all obstacles. Duran’s rich historical detail and complex characters make for a compelling read.

Major Similarities: “Duke of Shadows” shares with the Bridgerton series a deep sense of historical setting and context, though it expands beyond the typical Regency era London setting. The emphasis on strong, developed characters facing societal expectations and finding love in unexpected circumstances is a common thread.

11. “The Earl I Adore” by Erin Knightley

Sophie Wembley is enchanted by John, Earl of Evans, during their first encounter, leading to a sweet and tender romance. However, societal expectations and personal insecurities threaten to derail their burgeoning relationship. Knightley’s novel shines with its charming characters and heartfelt moments.

Major Similarities: Set in the Regency era, this book captures the essence of the period with its focus on romance, societal pressures, and the journey to overcoming obstacles for love, much like the Bridgerton series.

12. “The Perks of Loving a Scoundrel” by Jennifer McQuiston

This novel features Mary Channing, who prefers the quiet of her books to the chaos of society, and Geoffrey Westmore, a notorious scoundrel. A chance encounter thrusts them into a mysterious adventure that forces them to work together and, in the process, discover love. McQuiston combines romance, mystery, and a touch of humor in a story about unexpected love.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, this book is set in the Regency era and blends romance with a spirited heroine and a charming rogue, focusing on the development of their relationship amidst societal expectations and personal growth.

Books Like Bridgerton Series

1. The Hathaways Series by Lisa Kleypas

The Hathaways Series follows the lives of the Hathaway siblings in the 19th century, navigating through love, passion, and adventure in the backdrop of Victorian society. Each book focuses on a different sibling as they find romance, often in the most unexpected places. Lisa Kleypas combines humor, strong emotional development, and engaging plotlines to create a compelling historical romance series.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, The Hathaways series centers around a close-knit family navigating the complexities of love and society in a historical setting. Each book focuses on a different family member, offering a blend of romance, humor, and emotional depth.

2. The Wallflowers Series by Lisa Kleypas

The Wallflowers Series is about a group of four young women in Victorian London who band together in their quest to find husbands. Each book is dedicated to one of the women, exploring her journey towards love, often breaking societal norms in the process. The series is known for its engaging characters, romantic plots, and a strong sense of camaraderie among the women.

Major Similarities: Similar to the Bridgerton series, The Wallflowers focuses on romance in a historical setting, with a strong emphasis on character development and the social dynamics of the time. Both series highlight the importance of love, friendship, and family.

3. The Cynster Series by Stephanie Laurens

The Cynster Series centers on the Cynster family, a dynastic family of aristocrats in Regency England known for their influence, wealth, and strong-willed members. Each novel focuses on a different family member finding love, often amidst mystery and adventure. The series is celebrated for its steamy romance, intricate plots, and strong, independent characters.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, The Cynster Series combines elements of historical romance with family saga, focusing on a powerful and influential family. Both series explore themes of love, duty, and societal expectations.

4. The Bedwyn Saga by Mary Balogh

The Bedwyn Saga follows the Bedwyn family, six siblings of various ranks in Regency-era society, each finding love in unexpected ways. The series is known for its emotional depth, complex characters, and detailed historical setting. Mary Balogh creates a rich tapestry of love, honor, and family throughout the series.

Major Similarities: The Bedwyn Saga shares with the Bridgerton series the focus on a noble family during the Regency period, with each book dedicated to a different sibling’s love story. Both series emphasize the themes of family loyalty and societal expectations.

5. The Desperate Duchesses by Eloisa James

The Desperate Duchesses series is set in the Georgian period and follows the romantic adventures of various duchesses and other nobility. Eloisa James combines wit, historical detail, and steamy romance to explore the lives and loves of her characters. The series stands out for its clever dialogue and intricate plotlines.

Major Similarities: This series, like the Bridgerton series, focuses on the aristocracy and their romantic entanglements within a historical setting. Both series are praised for their detailed world-building and character development.

6. The Spindle Cove Series by Tessa Dare

Spindle Cove is a seaside retreat for young women of good breeding and delicate constitution, earning it the nickname “Spinster Cove.” The series focuses on the romantic adventures of these women as they find love and themselves in the process. Tessa Dare infuses the series with humor, strong female protagonists, and swoon-worthy heroes.

Major Similarities: Although set in a different locale, the Spindle Cove Series shares the Bridgerton series’ emphasis on romance, character growth, and the challenges of societal norms. Both series offer a mix of humor and emotional depth.

7. The Ravenels Series by Lisa Kleypas

Set in Victorian England, The Ravenels Series explores the lives of the Ravenel family, a noble but financially troubled lineage. The series blends passionate romance with the challenges of inheriting responsibility, featuring strong, complex characters and engaging plots. Lisa Kleypas’s writing is known for its emotional intensity and historical accuracy.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, The Ravenels focuses on a noble family and their romantic entanglements, set against a rich historical backdrop. Both series feature strong, memorable characters and explore the balance between love and duty.

8. The Maiden Lane Series by Elizabeth Hoyt

The Maiden Lane Series is set in 18th-century London, focusing on the lives of various characters residing in or around the fictional Maiden Lane. It combines romance with elements of mystery and adventure, exploring the darker and more sensual aspects of the period. The series is celebrated for its complex characters and gripping storylines.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, Maiden Lane features a historical setting and focuses on romance, but it also adds a layer of intrigue and mystery to the mix. Both series create a vivid portrayal of their respective periods.

9. The Carsington Brothers Series by Loretta Chase

The Carsington Brothers Series follows the romantic exploits of the Carsington brothers, who are urged by their father to find wealthy brides to restore the family’s fortunes. The series combines humor, romance, and a bit of adventure, showcasing Loretta Chase’s signature witty dialogue and engaging storylines.

Major Similarities: Similar to the Bridgerton series, this series focuses on a family of siblings navigating the marriage market, blending romance with humor and societal expectations. Both series feature compelling characters and engaging plots.

10. The Roxton Family Saga by Lucinda Brant

The Roxton Family Saga is a series of historical romance novels set in the 18th century, focusing on the aristocratic Roxton family. The series is known for its meticulous historical research, emotional depth, and complex characters. Lucinda Brant weaves tales of love, loss, and family across generations.

Major Similarities: Like the Bridgerton series, the Roxton Family Saga focuses on a noble family’s loves and lives, offering a deep dive into the societal and personal dynamics of its time. Both series are rich in historical detail and emotional storytelling.

11. The Hellions of Halstead Hall Series by Sabrina Jeffries

The Hellions of Halstead Hall Series follows the Sharpe siblings, who must each marry to inherit their grandmother’s fortune. Set in the Regency period, the series mixes romance with mystery as each sibling finds love and uncovers family secrets. Sabrina Jeffries is known for her engaging plots and lively characters.

Major Similarities: This series shares with Bridgerton the element of family dynamics intertwined with romance, set against a historical backdrop. Both series feature a blend of love stories, mystery, and the pressures of societal expectations.

12. The MacGregors Series by Nora Roberts

The MacGregors Series, while not strictly historical, follows the lives and loves of the members of the MacGregor family, spanning several generations. Nora Roberts combines elements of romance, family saga, and drama. The series is celebrated for its memorable characters, heartfelt moments, and engaging storylines.

Major Similarities: Although set in a more contemporary period, The MacGregors Series shares with the Bridgerton series the focus on a tight-knit family, each member’s story woven into a larger tapestry of love and relationships. Both series emphasize the importance of family bonds and love.

Similar Posts