| |

12 Books Like Jane Eyre

Books Like Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre, penned by Charlotte Brontë, is a bibliophile’s favorite for its compelling narrative of love, independence, and the triumph of the human spirit. Its timeless themes and complex characters continue to resonate with readers worldwide. If you’ve found yourself enchanted by the story of Jane Eyre and are yearning for more literary journeys that evoke similar emotions, look no further. 

In this blog, we’ll delve into a selection of novels that share thematic parallels with Jane Eyre, offering you a diverse array of captivating tales to explore. 

From brooding romances to tales of resilience and self-discovery, these books promise to transport you to worlds that echo the spirit of Charlotte Brontë’s beloved classic.

Books Like Jane Eyre

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

“Wuthering Heights” is the only novel by Emily Brontë and was published in 1847, a year after “Jane Eyre”. It is a tale of passion, revenge, and the destructive force of love that narrates the life of Heathcliff, an orphan taken in by the Earnshaw family, and his tumultuous relationship with his adopted sister, Catherine. 

The novel is renowned for its complex structure, narrated by multiple characters, and its exploration of the themes of nature versus nurture, the supernatural, and social class.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Jane Eyre” and “Wuthering Heights” were written in the Victorian era and share a deep connection through their exploration of social class, gender roles, and the gothic elements of romance and mystery. Each novel features strong, complex protagonists who face significant personal and societal challenges. 

The moody and atmospheric settings—Thornfield Hall in “Jane Eyre” and the Yorkshire moors in “Wuthering Heights”—play a crucial role in shaping the narrative and the characters’ destinies.

2. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

“Rebecca” is a gothic novel published in 1938 that tells the story of a young, unnamed woman who marries a wealthy widower, Maxim de Winter, and moves to his large country estate, Manderley. 

There, she is haunted by the presence and memories of his first wife, Rebecca, whose legacy lives on through the sinister housekeeper, Mrs. Danvers. The novel explores themes of jealousy, identity, and the struggle to find one’s place within a new family and social standing.

Major Similarities: 

“Rebecca” shares with “Jane Eyre” the elements of a gothic romance, a mysterious and brooding hero, and a young, inexperienced woman trying to find her place in a world that seems out of her reach. Both novels involve large, ancestral homes that harbor secrets and serve as central symbols in their respective stories. 

The themes of love, jealousy, and the influence of the past on the present are prevalent in both stories, creating a haunting and atmospheric narrative.

3. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë

Published in 1848, “The Tenant of Wildfell Hall” is Anne Brontë’s second and final novel. It tells the story of Helen Graham, who arrives at Wildfell Hall with her young son, arousing the curiosity and speculation of the local community. 

The novel is presented through the letters of Gilbert Markham, a farmer who becomes enamored with Helen. As her past is gradually revealed, the novel explores themes of alcoholism, domestic abuse, and the constraints of societal norms on women.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Jane Eyre”, “The Tenant of Wildfell Hall” is a pioneering feminist novel that challenges the Victorian era’s social norms and expectations of women. 

Both novels feature strong, independent female protagonists who defy the conventions of their times by leaving toxic relationships and asserting their moral and personal autonomy. The use of first-person narrative provides a deeply personal and intimate exploration of the characters’ thoughts and feelings.

4. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

“Great Expectations”, published in 1861, is one of Charles Dickens’ most famous works. It follows the life of Pip, an orphaned boy who grows up under the care of his sister and her husband, Joe Gargery. 

A mysterious benefactor provides for Pip to become a gentleman in London, leading him on a journey filled with expectations, disillusionments, and personal growth. The novel explores themes of social class, justice, and the true nature of gentility.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Jane Eyre” and “Great Expectations” are bildungsromans, charting the psychological and moral growth of the protagonist from childhood to adulthood. They delve into themes of social class, ambition, and the quest for identity within the confines of Victorian society. 

The novels also share a critical view of the era’s social hierarchy and the notion that personal virtue is not determined by wealth or status.

5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Published in 1854, “North and South” is Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel that contrasts the lifestyle and attitudes of the industrial North of England with the wealthier South. The story follows Margaret Hale, a young woman from the South who moves to the industrial town of Milton in the North. 

There, she encounters John Thornton, a mill owner, and through their turbulent relationship, the novel explores themes of industrialization, class conflict, and gender roles.

Major Similarities: 

“Jane Eyre” and “North and South” both feature strong, principled female protagonists who challenge the expectations placed upon them by society. 

Each novel is deeply concerned with social and class issues, exploring the protagonists’ struggles to maintain their integrity in the face of adversity. 

The romantic elements in both stories are complex and evolve through a deep understanding and mutual respect between the characters, set against a backdrop of significant social and personal challenges.

6. Middlemarch by George Eliot

“Middlemarch”, published in 1871-72, is a novel by George Eliot that is often considered her masterpiece. It is set in the fictitious Midlands town of Middlemarch during the 1830s and offers a complex tapestry of life and characters, exploring themes of idealism, ambition, marriage, and social change. 

The novel focuses on several key characters, including Dorothea Brooke, a young woman whose intellectual and philanthropic ambitions are stifled by the constraints of her society and her unfortunate marriage choices.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Jane Eyre”, “Middlemarch” explores the limitations placed on women by society, but it also offers a broader critique of the social and political climate of the time. Both novels feature strong, intelligent female protagonists who seek fulfillment and autonomy in a male-dominated world. 

The nuanced character development and moral introspection in both books offer deep insights into the human condition and the complexities of social relationships.

7. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

Published in 1874, “Far From the Madding Crowd” is Thomas Hardy’s fourth novel and his first major literary success. It tells the story of Bathsheba Everdene, a headstrong and independent young woman who inherits her uncle’s farm and decides to run it herself. 

Throughout the novel, Bathsheba attracts the attention of three very different suitors: Gabriel Oak, a shepherd; Sergeant Francis Troy, a handsome soldier; and William Boldwood, a prosperous and mature bachelor. The novel explores themes of love, honor, and betrayal against the backdrop of the rural farming community of Wessex.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Jane Eyre” and “Far From the Madding Crowd” feature strong, independent female protagonists who defy the gender norms of their time. 

The novels are set against the richly described landscapes of rural England, which significantly influence the story and characters. Themes of social status, morality, and the complexities of love and relationships are central to both narratives, offering a poignant examination of human emotions and societal expectations.

8. Villette by Charlotte Brontë

“Villette”, published in 1853, is another novel by Charlotte Brontë, written after “Jane Eyre”. It follows the story of Lucy Snowe, who, after an unspecified family disaster, travels to the fictional French-speaking city of Villette to seek employment. 

There, she becomes a teacher at a girls’ boarding school and navigates her complex feelings for the school’s autocratic headmaster, Monsieur Paul Emanuel. The novel explores themes of isolation, independence, and the struggle for personal identity within a foreign culture.

Major Similarities: 

“Villette” shares with “Jane Eyre” the themes of loneliness, the search for independence, and the challenges faced by women in a patriarchal society. Both novels feature strong, introspective female protagonists who confront their fears and societal expectations to carve out a place for themselves. 

The use of gothic elements and the exploration of psychological depth in both stories create a compelling narrative of personal growth and self-discovery.

9. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins

Published in 1859, “The Woman in White” is considered one of the first mystery novels and is a seminal work in the Victorian sensation novel genre. Written by Wilkie Collins, the story begins with Walter Hartright’s eerie encounter with a mysterious woman dressed all in white. 

The novel unfolds as a series of narratives from different characters, piecing together the chilling mystery of the woman in white, her identity, and her connection to an aristocratic family. The book delves into themes of identity, insanity, and the legal subjugation of women.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Jane Eyre”, “The Woman in White” employs elements of the gothic novel, including mystery, suspense, and a foreboding manor house. Both novels explore themes of female autonomy and resistance against the oppressive structures of Victorian society. 

The intricate plot and the use of multiple perspectives in “The Woman in White” create a narrative complexity that mirrors the psychological depth and moral ambiguity found in “Jane Eyre”.

10. Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

“Tess of the d’Urbervilles”, published in 1891, is a novel by Thomas Hardy that tells the tragic story of Tess Durbeyfield, a young woman from a rural family who seeks to claim kinship with the wealthy d’Urbervilles. Tess’s life is forever changed by her interactions with two men: Alec d’Urberville, who seduces and betrays her, and Angel Clare, whom she truly loves but who cannot accept her past. 

The novel critically examines the social conventions and moral hypocrisy of Victorian England, particularly in relation to women’s sexuality and the class system.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Jane Eyre” and “Tess of the d’Urbervilles” explore the struggles of young women against the social and moral expectations of Victorian society. Themes of innocence, exploitation, and the quest for dignity and autonomy in a patriarchal world are central to both narratives. 

Although the outcomes for the protagonists are quite different, each novel provides a critical look at the limitations and injustices faced by women of their times.

11. Bleak House by Charles Dickens

“Bleak House”, published in serial form between 1852 and 1853, is one of Charles Dickens’ most famous novels. It is known for its intricate plot, vast array of characters, and its critical look at the English legal system, particularly the Court of Chancery. 

The narrative is split between a third-person narrator, describing the case of Jarndyce and Jarndyce, and the first-person perspective of Esther Summerson, whose life becomes intertwined with the case and its myriad characters. 

The novel addresses themes of social injustice, the complexities of the legal system, and the plight of the poor in London.

Major Similarities: 

“Bleak House” and “Jane Eyre” share a concern with social issues and the injustices present within their respective societies. Both novels feature strong, morally upright female protagonists who navigate a complex world filled with challenges and injustices. 

The use of a dual narrative in “Bleak House” parallels the introspective and personal narrative style of “Jane Eyre”, offering deep insights into characters’ thoughts and motivations.

12. The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

“The Portrait of a Lady”, published in 1881, is a novel by Henry James that tells the story of Isabel Archer, a young American woman who inherits a large amount of money and subsequently becomes embroiled in a manipulative scheme that threatens her independence and happiness. 

The novel explores themes of freedom, betrayal, and the clash between American innocence and European sophistication, as Isabel navigates her way through the complex social landscapes of England and Italy.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Jane Eyre” and “The Portrait of a Lady” explore the themes of female independence and the search for self-identity in a restrictive society. The protagonists of both novels are strong, independent women who face significant challenges and must make difficult choices regarding their futures. 

The novels also share a keen psychological insight into their characters, delving into their thoughts, feelings, and motivations in a way that highlights the complexities of human nature and relationships.

Similar Posts