| |

15 Books Like Every Summer After

Books Like Every Summer After

Every Summer After is a tale that explores the complexities of friendship, love, and self-discovery against the backdrop of a picturesque summer setting. 

If you found yourself entranced by the nostalgic charm and emotional depth of Every Summer After, you’re likely on the lookout for similar literary gems to immerse yourself in. 

In this blog post, we’ll embark on a journey through a curated selection of books that share the essence of Every Summer After, offering poignant narratives, relatable characters, and moments that linger in the heart long after finishing the novel.

Whether you’re craving more tales of youthful adventure, heartfelt connections, or journeys of self-realization, these books are sure to captivate your imagination and evoke the same stirring emotions as Every Summer After.

Let’s go. 

Books Like Every Summer After

1. “Love and Other Words” by Christina Lauren

Love and Other Words” is a touching and deeply emotional novel by the bestselling author duo Christina Lauren. The story alternates between past and present, telling the tale of Macy Sorensen and Elliot Petropoulos, who were once inseparable. 

Their love story begins in a cozy library during their teenage years, blossoming into something much deeper until a tragic event tears them apart, leaving unsaid words and secrets between them.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Every Summer After,” “Love and Other Words” explores themes of first love, heartbreak, and reconciliation, with a narrative that transitions between the protagonists’ adolescent years and their adult lives. 

Both novels delve into the complexities of relationships and the impact of the past on the present, offering readers a poignant look at love, loss, and the possibility of a second chance.

2. “The Summer I Turned Pretty” by Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty” is a YA romance novel that captures the essence of summer love and growing up. It’s the first book in a series that follows Isabel “Belly” Conklin, as she spends every summer at Cousins Beach with her mother, brother, and her mother’s best friend’s sons, Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher. 

This summer, however, Belly is starting to be seen differently, especially by the Fisher boys, leading to a summer full of romance, heartache, and transformation.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Every Summer After” and “The Summer I Turned Pretty” revolve around summer settings that are crucial to the development of the story’s romance and character growth. 

They share themes of coming-of-age, the evolution of friendships into romantic relationships, and the nostalgia and bittersweet challenges that come with growing up and moving on.

3. “One Day in December” by Josie Silver

“One Day in December” is a heartwarming and enchanting romance novel that follows Laurie, who doesn’t believe in love at first sight until she sees a man through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day. She spends a year searching for him until she finds him introduced as her best friend’s new boyfriend. 

The book spans over a decade, exploring Laurie and Jack’s lives as they navigate friendship, missed opportunities, and life’s unpredictable twists.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Every Summer After,” “One Day in December” plays with the concept of timing in relationships, missed connections, and the enduring power of a first love. 

Both novels elegantly weave through time, providing a deep dive into the characters’ lives and emotional journeys, emphasizing the theme of fate and the choices that define us.

4. “This Is How It Always Is” by Laurie Frankel

“This Is How It Always Is” is a novel about family, transformation, and acceptance. It centers on Rosie and Penn and their five sons. 

When their youngest son, Claude, reveals that he wants to be a girl when he grows up, the entire family embarks on a journey of acceptance, understanding, and love. 

It’s a story about the secrets we keep and how they can come to define us, as well as the importance of being true to oneself.

Major Similarities: 

Although not a traditional romance like “Every Summer After,” “This Is How It Always Is” shares the theme of secrets, personal growth, and the impact of past decisions on the present. 

Both novels address the complexities of love and relationships, albeit from different perspectives, and they emphasize the importance of acceptance, understanding, and second chances.

5. “Before We Were Strangers” by Renée Carlino

“Before We Were Strangers” is a captivating romance novel about missed connections and second chances. It tells the story of Grace and Matt, who meet in their senior year of college and form an unbreakable bond. 

However, life’s circumstances pull them apart, and they lose touch after graduation. 

Fifteen years later, a chance encounter on a Manhattan subway platform offers them a shot at reconnecting and correcting the mistakes of their past.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Before We Were Strangers” and “Every Summer After” explore the theme of lost love and the possibility of rekindling a romance after years of separation. 

The narratives of both novels shift between the past and the present, unraveling the history of the protagonists’ relationships and their profound impacts on their lives, highlighting the enduring nature of true love and the power of forgiveness.

6. “November 9” by Colleen Hoover

“November 9” is a novel by Colleen Hoover that tells the story of Fallon and Ben, who meet by chance in Los Angeles and spend an unforgettable day together. 

Knowing that Fallon is moving to the East Coast the next day, they make a pact to meet on the same date every year, regardless of where they are in their lives. As their meetings unfold over several years, secrets are revealed that could threaten their relationship.

Major Similarities: 

Much like “Every Summer After,” “November 9” explores a unique structure of time, focusing on specific dates to frame the narrative. Both stories delve into themes of growth, love, and the impact of past events on present relationships. 

The emotional depth, engaging characters, and the twist of fate that brings the protagonists together in both novels resonate with readers who enjoy stories about second chances and destiny.

7. “You and Me on Vacation” (UK title: “The Road Trip”) by Emily Henry

“You and Me on Vacation” is a romantic comedy by Emily Henry that follows two friends, Poppy and Alex, who are complete opposites but have formed an unlikely friendship. 

They have a tradition of taking one vacation together every year, which is always filled with adventure and laughter, until one trip goes wrong and they stop speaking to each other. Two years later, they have one last chance to save their friendship—and maybe even turn it into something more.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Every Summer After,” “You and Me on Vacation” features a narrative that alternates between the past and the present, exploring the dynamics of a deep friendship that might blossom into love. 

Both novels capture the essence of summer, the nostalgia of shared histories, and the complexities of navigating adult relationships after years of friendship.

8. “Summer of ’69” by Elin Hilderbrand

“Summer of ’69” is a historical fiction novel by Elin Hilderbrand set against the backdrop of a tumultuous period in American history. The story revolves around the Levin family, spending their summer on Nantucket, as each member faces personal crises and societal changes. 

The novel explores themes of love, family, and the impact of historical events on personal lives, all while encapsulating the essence of summer in the 1960s.

Major Similarities: 

While “Summer of ’69” is not strictly a romance novel like “Every Summer After,” it shares the theme of a pivotal summer that changes the characters’ lives forever. 

Both books are set during summertime and delve into the complexities of relationships—romantic, familial, and platonic—amidst the backdrop of significant life events.

9. “The Light We Lost” by Jill Santopolo

“The Light We Lost” is a deeply moving romance novel by Jill Santopolo. It follows Lucy and Gabe, who meet as seniors at Columbia University on a day that changes their lives forever. 

Their connection is immediate and profound, but life takes them in different directions. Over the next thirteen years, their paths intersect in ways that test the strength of their bond and the choices they’ve made.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Every Summer After,” “The Light We Lost” explores the theme of first love and its lasting impact over the years. 

Both novels are told with emotional depth and navigate the characters’ journeys through love, loss, and the difficult choices that define their futures. The stories question what it means to be true to oneself while being in love with someone else.

10. “The Last Thing He Told Me” by Laura Dave

“The Last Thing He Told Me” by Laura Dave is a gripping novel about love, family, and secrets. 

The story centers on Hannah Hall, who marries Owen Michaels and forms a challenging but loving relationship with his daughter, Bailey. Their lives are turned upside down when Owen disappears, leaving behind a note instructing Hannah to protect Bailey. 

As they seek the truth about Owen’s past, Hannah and Bailey develop a deep bond and uncover family secrets.

Major Similarities: 

Although “The Last Thing He Told Me” focuses more on mystery and family dynamics than romance, it shares with “Every Summer After” themes of love’s enduring power and the impact of secrets. 

Both novels explore how past decisions resonate in the present and the ways in which relationships evolve over time, offering readers emotionally rich narratives that examine the complexities of love and loyalty.

11. “The Idea of You” by Robinne Lee

“The Idea of You” is a contemporary romance novel by Robinne Lee that explores the unexpected and passionate love affair between Solène Marchand, a sophisticated art gallery owner in her late thirties, and Hayes Campbell, a much younger member of the world’s biggest boy band. 

Their relationship sparks in the glamorous settings of Los Angeles, Paris, and Cannes, challenging societal norms and expectations while navigating the complexities of love, fame, and the sacrifices one must make for both.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Every Summer After,” “The Idea of You” delves into a romance that defies expectations, focusing on the deep emotional connections that transcend age and life stages. 

Both novels explore themes of love, sacrifice, and the bittersweet realities of choosing between personal happiness and societal acceptance, offering readers a poignant look at unconventional relationships and their consequences.

12. “Second First Impressions” by Sally Thorne

“Second First Impressions” is a charming and quirky romance novel by Sally Thorne. It tells the story of Ruthie Midona, who works and lives at a retirement villa, ensuring everything runs smoothly. 

Her life takes an unexpected turn when Teddy Prescott, the villa owner’s son, arrives on the scene. 

Ruthie and Teddy’s initial misunderstandings lead to a delightful exploration of love, second chances, and the importance of first impressions in the sunny backdrop of a retirement community.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Every Summer After” and “Second First Impressions” share a heartfelt narrative that centers around themes of love, growth, and the impact of past experiences on present relationships. 

While their settings and character dynamics differ, both novels emphasize the importance of giving love a second chance and the transformative power of deep, meaningful connections.

13. “People We Meet on Vacation” by Emily Henry

“People We Meet on Vacation” by Emily Henry is a romance novel that captures the essence of friendship and love through the story of Poppy and Alex, two best friends with nothing in common but their annual summer trips. 

After a fallout two years ago, they haven’t spoken to each other, but Poppy is determined to fix whatever went wrong to have her friend and their perfect vacations back. 

The novel is a blend of humor, heartache, and the journeys that life takes us on, exploring whether two people destined for each other can find their way back.

Major Similarities: 

Similar to “Every Summer After,” “People We Meet on Vacation” revolves around the central theme of reconnecting after years of separation and misunderstanding. 

Both stories are told with a mixture of past and present narratives, highlighting the significance of summer as a backdrop for romance and self-discovery. 

The themes of enduring friendship turning into love, the impact of time on relationships, and the quest for a second chance are prevalent in both novels.

14. “Beach Read” by Emily Henry

Beach Read” is a romance novel by Emily Henry that features two writers, January Andrews and Augustus Everett, who find themselves living next door to each other one summer. 

Both are suffering from writer’s block and decide to challenge each other to step out of their literary comfort zones. 

As they spend the summer writing and sharing their deepest fears and desires, they discover that more than just their writing styles are compatible. The novel beautifully explores themes of vulnerability, healing, and how love can emerge from unexpected places.

Major Similarities: 

Both “Every Summer After” and “Beach Read” are set during the summer and effectively use the season as a catalyst for change and growth in their characters’ lives. 

The novels explore the development of romantic relationships from initial skepticism to deep connection, emphasizing the themes of healing past wounds and finding love in unexpected places.

15. “The Unhoneymooners” by Christina Lauren

“The Unhoneymooners” is a romantic comedy by the author duo Christina Lauren. It follows Olive Torres and Ethan Thomas, who end up taking their siblings’ honeymoon trip together after the entire wedding party falls ill. 

Despite their antagonistic relationship, Olive and Ethan decide to make the most of their free vacation. 

What starts as a series of comedic misadventures in paradise leads to unexpected feelings and the realization that perhaps they aren’t enemies after all.

Major Similarities: 

Like “Every Summer After,” “The Unhoneymooners” explores the themes of chance encounters leading to unexpected romance, the fine line between love and hate, and the transformative power of taking a break from normal life. 

Both novels feature protagonists who must navigate their past misconceptions and vulnerabilities to embrace a potential future together, offering readers engaging tales of love found in the most unlikely circumstances.

Similar Posts